National Museum of Bermuda is a non-government, not-for-profit Bermuda Registered Charity (No. 136). The Museum’s operations, projects and programmes are funded by generous private and corporate donations and income from admissions, membership dues, and facilities rentals.

The Museum is governed by a Board of Trustees, who are responsible for the general management and control of the Museum and the appointment of the Executive Director. The Board’s responsibilities include:

  • The Museum’s well-being and function in the community
  • Establishment of basic policies and objectives
  • Solicitation of funds
  • Approval of annual budget and major projects

Board of Trustees

Dr. Douglas De Couto, Chairman
Rees Fletcher, Vice Chairman
Matt Claridge, Treasurer
James Watlington, Secretary

Robert Blee
Dr. Crystal Clay
Jazmin Da Ponte
Andrew Dias
Jennifer Davidson
Tim Davidson
Dr. Janet Ferguson
Pamela Ferreira
Michael Grayston
James Hallett
Dr. Clarence Maxwell
Michael Maguire
Isabelle Ramsay-Brackstone
Ru-Zelda Severin
Robert Steinhoff
Neil Stempel
Charles Thresh
Col. Sumner Waters

The American Friends of the National Museum of Bermuda, Inc.

The American Friends of the National Museum of Bermuda 501(c)(3), initially called the Friends of the Bermuda Maritime Museum, was established in 1982. Its purpose is to raise funds to support the National Museum of Bermuda and museums in North America for education and scientific purposes. Donations are generally tax deductible for those subject to US income taxation.

You can help support the National Museum of Bermuda by donating to the American Friends. For information, please email

Tel: +1 441 234 1333

Board of Trustees

Michael J. A. Darling, President
Santiago Pujadas, Vice President
Robert Mason, Treasurer

Dr. Marley Brown III
Katrina Hele
Christopher Kniffin
Paul Leseur
Robert H. Moore
Hiroshi Nakajima
Tim Pettee

Friends of the National Museum of Bermuda (UK)

The Friends of the National Museum of Bermuda (UK), (formerly The Bermuda Maritime Museum Trust) was established in London in 1985 and has charitable status under UK law. Its purpose is to assist in the raising of funds for approved capital projects and to accept grants in support of the work of the National Museum of Bermuda. The majority of its Trustees are residents of the UK who have a long-term interest in Bermuda and the preservation of its heritage. It meets at least once a year in London with the Executive Director and other Trustees.
Tel: +1 441 234 1333

Board of Trustees

George Fergusson, Chairman
Colin Fleming, Treasurer/Secretary

Cdr. Robin Bawtree, OBE, RN
Jonathan Coad
Paul Leseur
Greg Lunn
Dag Palmer

Personal Information Protection Act

Bermuda’s Personal Information Privacy Act (PIPA) was passed in 2016. PIPA is overseen by a Privacy Commissioner, and the National Museum of Bermuda is following governmental guidelines of best practices to ensure any records with personal information are treated with the utmost security, sensitivity, and discretion. Katie Bennett, Advancement Officer, has been named as  Privacy Officer and will ensure PIPA standards are upheld in our offices. If you have any questions about your records, or would like to update your personal information, please contact us at 441-234-1333 or